Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the governing body of Mitchell’s Place, and consists of community leaders, business owners, physicians, lawyers and parents. Individuals who sit on the board are responsible for overseeing the organization’s activities and attending periodic meetings. All members have demonstrated a passion for Mitchell’s Place and the community and have a specialized set of skills used to help grow and sustain the mission, vision and values of Mitchell’s Place.

Edward K. Aldag, Jr.
Vice Chair

President and CEO, Medical Properties Trust

Patrick Carlton

President, SouthState Bank

A. Michelle Clemon


Principal/Owner, The Clemon Consulting Group

James P. Cowin

CEO and President, Cowin Equipment

Wally Evans

Retired, President and CEO, Cahaba Media

Brenda Hackney

President, Hackney Foundation

Phillip Pickett

Financial Advisor, Northwestern Mutual

Amy McKinney

Community Volunteer

Allen Meisler

Chairman, Treasurer

Mitchell’s Place Co-Founder,  Owner Rime Company


Sara Nall

Executive Director, Mitchell’s Place

Nancy Meisler

Mitchell’s Place Co-Founder

Justin Weintraub

Chief Development Officer, Daniel Corporation

James S. Ward


Herbert Wilkerson 

MS, LPC, JSOCC Licensed Professional Counselor

Director of Student Multicultural & Diversity Programs, UAB

Laura McGuinn, MD

Professor of Pediatrics 

UAB Heersink School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics, Thomas Lowder Chair in Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics

Advisory Council

Rita Chubick

Client Solutions Leader, Syntropy Group

Virginia Gilbert Loftin

Vice President for Advancement & Communications, Birmingham Southern College

Josh Simpson

Chief Strategy Officer, Intermark Group

David Williams

Director and CPA, Pearce, Bevill, Leesburg, Moore, P.C.

Angela Redmond

Pediatrician, Children’s Hospital

Christi Daniel Lunsford

Vice President & Associate General Counsel, Encompass Health